What Is A Double Dribble In Basketball?

Starting with a question, “What is a double dribble in basketball?” So, a double dribble is when a player dribbles the ball with one hand, stops, and then starts dribbling again with the same hand. …

Starting with a question, “What is a double dribble in basketball?” So, a double dribble is when a player dribbles the ball with one hand, stops, and then starts dribbling again with the same hand. This is a violation and the player will lose possession of the ball.

A double dribble can also occur when a player tries to pick up the ball while they are still dribbling. This is also a violation and the player will lose possession of the ball.

Double dribbling is a common mistake that players make, especially young players. It is essential to be aware of the rule and avoid double dribbling so that you do not turn the ball over to the other team.

What is a double dribble in basketball

How do you avoid a double dribble violation?

There are a few things you can do to avoid a double dribble violation:

• Only dribble with one hand. If you need to switch hands, pick up the ball first before dribbling again with the other hand.

• Do not try to pick up the ball while you are still dribbling. If you need to stop, pick up the ball first before starting to dribble again.

• Be aware of where your other players are on the court. If someone is open, pass the ball instead of continuing to dribble.

By following these tips, you can avoid a double dribble violation and keep your team in possession of the ball.

What happens after a double dribble?

After knowing what is a double dribble in basketball we need to learn about the penalty also. If a player commits a double dribble violation, the other team will be awarded the ball. The player who committed the violation will also likely be called for a foul, which will give the other team one or two free throws.

In some cases, a double dribble may not be called if it does not affect the play. For example, if a player is moving away from the basket and not in a position to score, then a double dribble may not be called.

However, if a player is in a position to score and commits a double dribble, then it is more likely that a foul will be called and the other team will be given possession of the ball.

When in doubt, it is always best to avoid double dribbling so that you do not give the other team an opportunity to score.

Why is Double Dribble illegal in Basketball?

The double dribble rule was created to prevent players from gaining an advantage by repeatedly dribbling the ball. If a player is able to pick up the ball and start dribbling again, they would have a significant advantage over the other players on the court.

Preventing players from double dribbling, keeps the game fair and ensures that all players have an equal opportunity to score. It also helps to keep the flow of the game moving by preventing players from stalling.

So, there you have it! That is everything you need to know about the double dribble rule in basketball. Be sure to avoid this violation so that you do not turn the ball over to the other team. And if you do commit a double dribble, be prepared to give the other team possession of the ball.

Examples of Double Dribbling

There are a few different ways that a player can commit a double dribble:

• Dribbling the ball with one hand, stopping, and then starting to dribble again with the same hand.

• Dribbling the ball with one hand and then picking it up before dribbling again with the other hand.

• Dribbling the ball with one hand and then trying to pick up the ball while still dribbling.

All of these examples would result in a double dribble violation and the player would lose possession of the ball.

Avoiding a double dribble can be difficult, especially for young players who are still learning the rules of basketball. However, it is important to be aware of the rule and to avoid double dribbling so that you do not turn the ball over to the other team.

Controversy regarding Double Dribbling

There is some controversy regarding the double dribble rule, specifically when it comes to a player trying to pick up the ball while still dribbling.

Some people believe that a player should be able to pick up the ball as long as they are not in a position to score. However, others believe that picking up the ball while still dribbling should always result in a double dribble violation.

The rule is currently written so that a double dribble is only called if it affects the play. For example, if a player is moving away from the basket and not in a position to score, then a double dribble may not be called.

This debate is likely to continue as long as the double dribble rule exists. However, for now, it is best to avoid double dribbling so that you do not give the other team an opportunity to score.

Frequently Asked Questions & Answers 

Q: Can you dribble with two hands in basketball?

A: No, you cannot dribble with two hands in basketball. Doing so would result in a double dribble violation and the other team would be awarded possession of the ball.

Q: What happens if you double dribble in basketball?

A: If you commit a double dribble violation, the other team will be given possession of the ball. The player who committed the violation may also be called for a foul, which will give the other team one or two free throws.

Q: Why is double dribbling illegal in basketball?

A: Double dribbling is illegal because it gives the player an unfair advantage over the other players on the court. It also disrupts the flow of the game and can prevent other players from having a fair chance to score.

Q: Is it a double dribble if you stop and start dribbling again?

A: Yes, stopping and starting to dribble again is considered a double dribble. Doing so would give the other team possession of the ball.

Q: Can you dribble with two hands in basketball?

A: No, you cannot dribble with two hands in basketball. Doing so would result in a double dribble violation and the other team would be awarded possession of the ball.

Conclusion

In conclusion, double dribbling is illegal in basketball because it gives the player an unfair advantage and disrupts the game’s flow. If you commit a double dribble, the other team will be given possession of the ball. Be sure to avoid this violation so that you can keep the ball and help your team to victory! Thanks for reading!

You can read more about-

What Is A Screen In Basketball?

Best Basketball Movies

What Is The Key In Basketball?

What Are The Best Basketball Shoes?

Leave a Comment